I crashed

There’s just been so much craziness going on with looking for a house.  I found a house.  The lender approved my loan and then it turns out the seller and her listing agent were unreasonable and shady as hell.  They would keep sending over unsigned paperwork for the addenda that were agreed upon in the contract.  When the listing agent wasn’t ignoring my agent, he was cursing and screaming at him over the phone.

So I told my realtor to get a release from the contract.  I’m just out of the money that I spent on an inspection and an appraisal.  He was actually surprised that I responded with little emotion because according to him, people tend to get overly emotional and attached to their potential first home.

I did the most logical thing that I could which was to tell that listing agent to take that house and shove it.  Of course, that move put me right back at square one within a housing market that’s becoming astonishingly more cutthroat by the day.

I looked at about 6 or 7 more houses and I finally put a bid on it this past Wednesday.  There were already 2 other offers on the house.  Two days pass by and still no word.  Finally, as I’m leaving work on Friday, I hear the good news that my offer was accepted.  I believe that my agent really hit upon the facts that my earnest money deposit was already in hand and that I had a lender ready to go.

On Saturday, my body just crashed.  I slept most of the day.  That knot in my neck went away and my shoulders lost that tenseness that they had acquired over the past 2 weeks.

Dealing with idiots definitely takes a toll on me, but really all of this uncertainty with finding a place reminded me of all of the constant moving or living with relatives that I had to endure as a child.  I attended 5 elementary schools and 2 middle schools.  Plus after we finally settled, my mother was always quick to say “this is my house.”  My aunt was the same way when I lived with her after college.

To this very day, I do not refer as going to my mother’s house as “going home.”

I am very much looking forward to the day when I can finally say that some place is “my home.”

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Davina
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 22:41:23

    They accepted your offer! That is GREAT news! Can’t wait until you’re all moved in and you can relax in your new home. 🙂

    Reply

  2. IDC Realness
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 01:53:27

    DANG, all this time I thought shady agents existed only in my area . Congrats two times…first going with your intuition cancelling the first contract and second CONGRATULATIONS for continuing to push onward and upward in fulfilling your dream of becoming a homeowner. May the rest of your real estate transaction be enjoyable and stressfree!

    Reply

  3. Adam F
    Aug 13, 2013 @ 08:59:05

    I like this post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 129 other followers

mutendc

Go Anywhere, Be Anything

Adventures In...

...the evolving perspective of a life in progress

days like crazy paving

the life, times and ramblings of jaythenerdkid. probably not safe for children.

30 Dates in 2014

Cheer me on as I take on the challenge!

Living the Life

Staying spirited (while attending college): happy thoughts on the happiest time of your life

Supreme Fitness

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site. Why dentists? Why not is the better question. This is a blog where you can come and learn about fitness, health, nutrition, random things, great music , whatever!

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Lair of the Queer Black Girl

Just your (not-so) friendly neighborhood anti-racist killjoy.

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Gringa Gardening

The Real Dirt On Gardening

You Forgot Your Common Sense

straight talk, no chaser discussing the do's & don'ts on life.

juliansherman.net/

Building A Business While Having A Life

Just A Selection Of Notions

Reviews - Essays - Poetry - Fiction

Anne Squared

Life filtered through the lens of an INTJ, Mom, and healthcare professional.

