Skin Care Challenge Update: Products I will no longer use

Hello Readers,

The main objective of the Skin Care Challenge that started in December was to create and maintain a skin care routine because we’re adults who should have a routine, we live in a polluted area, and we have occasionally stressful lives.

As I mentioned in my last post, I have eczema and acne-prone, combination skin.  A product that is great for my acne might cause an eczema flare-up and vice versa. At the start of the challenge, my skin was just static. A major step in the challenge was getting rid of products that do not work. I read a ton of dermatologists websites, looked at other blogs, and read information on Paula’s Choice/Beautypedia to find information on skin care ingredients.

So to clean up my routine, I’m no longer using any product with a bunch of essential oils and/or fragrance. Due to my eczema, my dermatologist had me switch to fragrance-free laundry detergent and dryer sheets a long time ago.  I don’t know why it never dawned on me to do the same for skin care.  So any product that I had from Clarins is out.  In the recycling bin, it went. Philosophy Purity Cleanser is also out.  I have a lot leftover and it will be used as makeup brush cleanser.  It has too many essential oils.

Also, I stopped using soap bars like Cetaphil or Dove on my face.  They are fine for body cleansers, but the fat content in the bars can be an issue for acne-prone skin.

Tis all for now!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 130 other followers

mutendc

Go Anywhere, Be Anything

Adventures In...

...the evolving perspective of a life in progress

days like crazy paving

the life, times and ramblings of jaythenerdkid. probably not safe for children.

30 Dates in 2014

Cheer me on as I take on the challenge!

Living the Life

Staying spirited (while attending college): happy thoughts on the happiest time of your life

Supreme Fitness

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site. Why dentists? Why not is the better question. This is a blog where you can come and learn about fitness, health, nutrition, random things, great music , whatever!

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Lair of the Queer Black Girl

Just your (not-so) friendly neighborhood anti-racist killjoy.

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Gringa Gardening

The Real Dirt On Gardening

You Forgot Your Common Sense

straight talk, no chaser discussing the do's & don'ts on life.

juliansherman.net/

Building A Business While Having A Life

Just A Selection Of Notions

Reviews - Essays - Poetry - Fiction

Anne Squared

Life filtered through the lens of an INTJ, Mom, and healthcare professional.

